DGA pushes 1917 further towards Oscar glory | Awards Insights
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-15719,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

DGA pushes 1917 further towards Oscar glory

DGA pushes 1917 further towards Oscar glory

Sorry for posting so late, but late Saturday night the awards for the Directors’ Guild of America, American Society of Cinematographers, Cinema Audio Society, and USC Scripter were all announced. Here are some major takeaways:

Sam Mendes won Best Director essentially locking himself for a Best Director win and pushing 1917 closer to Oscar gold.

Roger Deakins won Best Cinematography, which isn’t a surprise, he will win the Oscar.

Ford v Ferrari won the most important Cinema Audio Society (Sound Mixing) award, but 1917, its biggest contender in the Best Sound Mixing race, was not nominated.

Little Women won at USC Scripter further proving that it will win Best Adapted Screenplay, but this award still could be a question mark.

Klaus won Best Animated Feature at the Annie awards adding another turn to the twisty ANimated Feature race.

To see full Annie Awards’ winners, click here

Directors’ Guild of America (DGA):

Feature Film
Bong Joon Ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

First Feature
Mati Diop, Atlantics
Alma Har’el, Honey Boy
Melina Matsoukas, Queen & Slim
Tyler Nilson & Michael Shwartz, The Peanut Butter Falcon
Joe Talbot, The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert, American Factory
Feras Fayyad, The Cave
Alex Holmes, Maiden
Ljubomir Stefanov & Tamara Kotevska, Honeyland
Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang, One Child Nation

Comedy Series
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s the Sixties, Man!” (Prime Video)
Bill Hader, Barry, “ronny/lily,” (HBO)
Veep, “Veep,” (HBO)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy or Cabbage,” (Prime Video)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Marvelous Radio,” (Prime Video)

Dramatic Series
Nicole Kassell, Watchmen, “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice,” (HBO)
Mark Mylod, Succession, “This Is Not For Tears,” (HBO)
David Nutter, Game of Thrones, “The Last of the Starks,” (HBO)
Miguel Sapochnik, Game of Thrones, “The Long Night,” (HBO)
Stephen Williams, Watchmen, “This Extraordinary Being,” (HBO)

Movies for Television, Limited Series
Ava DuVernay, When They See Us
Vince Gilligan, El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
Thomas Kail, Fosse/Verdon, “Nowadays”
Johan Renck, Chernobyl
Minkie Spiro, Fosse/Verdon, “All I Care About Is Love”
Jessica Yu, Fosse/Verdon, “Glory”

Spike Jonze for Dream It, Squarespace

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials:
James Burrows and Andy Fisher, Live in Front of a Studio Audience Norman Lear’s ‘All in the Family’ and ‘The Jeffersons’

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled
Don Roy King, Saturday Night Live, “E. Murphy; Lizzo”

USC Scripter:


Dark Waters, Matthew Carnahan and Mario Correa, “The Lawyer Who Became DuPont’s Worst Nightmare” by Nathaniel Rich
The Irishman, Steven Zaillian, I Heard You Paint Houses by Charles Brandt
Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi, Caging Skies by Christine Leunens
Little Women, Greta Gerwig, Louisa May Alcott
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten, based on his play The Pope


Fleabag, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, one-woman play of the same name
Fosse/Verdon, Joel Fields and Steven Levenson, “Nowadays,” based on the biography Fosse by Sam Wasson
Killing Eve, Emerald Fennell, “Nice and Neat,” based on the novel Codename Villanelle by Luke Jennings
Unbelieveable, Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, for the first episode, based on the article “An Unbelievable Story of Rape” by T. Christian Miller and Ken Armstrong
Watchmen, Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson for the episode “This Extraordinary Being,” based on the comic book series by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons

American Society of Cinematographers (ASC):

Feature Film
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for 1917
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for Ford v Ferrari
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for The Irishman
Robert Richardson, ASC for Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Lawrence Sher, ASC for Joker

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma for Honeyland
Evangelia Kranioti for Obscuro Barroco
Nicholas de Pencier for Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
John Conroy, ISC for The Terror: Infamy “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest”
P.J. Dillon, ISC for The Rook “Chapter 1”
Chris Manley, ASC for Doom Patrol “Pilot”
Martin Ruhe, ASC for Catch-22 “Episode 5”
Craig Wrobleski, CSC for The Twilight Zone “Blurryman”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
David Luther for Das Boot “Gegen die Zeit”
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel “Simone”
Chris Seager, BSC for Carnival Row “Grieve No More”
Brendan Steacy, CSC for Titans “Dick Grayson”
Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC for The Handmaid’s Tale “Night”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Dana Gonzales, ASC for Legion “Chapter 20”
C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC for Project Blue Book “The Flatwoods Monster”
Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC for Legion “Chapter 23”
Peter Robertson, ISC for Vikings “Hell”
David Stockton, ASC for Gotham “Ace Chemicals”

Spotlight Award
Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse
Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF for Honey Boy
Jasper Wolf, NSC for Monos

ASC International Award:
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC

ASC Lifetime Achievement Award
Frederick Elmes, ASC

Cinema Audio Society (CAS):

Motion Picture — Live Action
“Ford v Ferrari”
“Once Upon a Time in… Hollywood”
“The Irishman”

Motion Picture — Animated
“Frozen II”
“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
“The Lion King”
“Toy Story 4”

Motion Picture — Documentary
“Apollo 11”
“Echo in the Canyon”
“Making Waves: The Art of Cinematic Sound”
“Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool”
“Woodstock: 3 Days That Changed Everything”

Television Series — 1 hour
“Game of Thrones: The Bells”
“Peaky Blinders: Mr. Jones”
“Stranger Thing: Chapter Eight: The Battle of Starcourt”
“The Handmaid’s Tale: Heroic”
“Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan: Persona Non Grata”

Television Series — 1/2 hour
“Barry: ronny/lily”
“Fleabag: Episode #2.6”
“Modern Family: A Year of Birthdays”
“Russian Doll: The Way Out”
“Veep: Veep Episode 707”

Television Movie or Limited Series
“Apollo: Missions to the Moon”
“Chernobyl: 1:23:45” — Winner
“Deadwood: The Movie”
“El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie”
“True Detective: The Great War and Modern Memory”

Television Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials
“Country Music: Will the Circle Be Unbroken? (1968-1972)”
“David Bowie: Finding Fame”
“Deadliest Catch: Sixty Foot Monster Episode 1512”
“Formula 1: Drive to Survive: The Next Generation”
“Hitsville: The Making of Motown”